NewsCopy TradingPerformanceBybit
Does copy trading profit share use a high-water mark?
Bybit Pro and Bitget spot say yes on their own rules pages; Bybit Classic and OKX net a weekly cycle instead. What each published settlement rule does.
By Staff, Copytrade Press
Sometimes. Of the four crypto copy-trading product lines whose published rules this desk read, two, Bybit Copy Trading Pro and Bitget spot copy trading, name a high-water mark. Bybit Copy Trading Classic and OKX do not use the term; they net a follower’s wins and losses across a fixed weekly cycle and refund any excess withheld.
That is the whole answer to whether copy trading profit share uses a high-water mark, and it is less tidy than the explainers make it. The page currently at the top of this query, an exchange blog dated 7 April 2026, says most copy-trading systems use one and names no platform’s rule. So we read the rules pages instead: two Bybit help-center articles, one OKX support article and one Bitget support article, all opened on 11 September 2026. Binance’s futures copy-trading FAQ and MEXC’s rules article did not open for this desk on the same day, and this post carries no figure for either. The table below is the result.
Does copy trading profit share use a high-water mark? Operator by operator
| Product line | High-water mark stated? | What the share is charged on | Cycle and settlement (operator’s zone) | Ratio, per the page | If positions are still open | Page date shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Copy Trading Pro | Yes, by name | Latest strategy NAV minus the previous highest NAV, times shares | Calculated day T+6 of the strategy cycle from the 2AM UTC NAV; settled 2AM UTC on T+7 | Up to 30%, set by the Pro Master | No such condition on the page read; share is computed from the 2AM UTC NAV | Last updated 2025-11-13 |
| Bybit Copy Trading Classic | Not on the page read | Net closed-position P&L after open and close fees, netted over the week | Saturday 00:00 UTC to Friday 23:59:59 UTC; settled 3AM UTC Monday | Cadet 10%, Bronze 10%, Silver 12%, Gold 15% | A day’s share is held until every perpetual opened that day is closed | Last updated 2026-02-25 |
| OKX copy trading | Not on the page read | Net P&L of copied orders after fees, wins and losses cancelling within the week | Monday 00:00 to Sunday 23:59:59 UTC+8 (Sunday 16:00 UTC boundary); calculated Monday 00:00 UTC+8 | Up to 30%, by lead-trader level | Futures: postponed while any linked position is open. Spot: postponed unless all crypto bought that week is sold | Published Sep 4, 2023; updated Aug 19, 2026 |
| Bitget spot copy trading | Yes, by name | Total PnL (realized plus unrealized) minus PnL already settled | Every Monday 8:00 AM UTC+8 (Monday 00:00 UTC); also on stop-copy or project close | Not capped on this page; worked example shows 10%, 12% and 15% | Only accounts that have fully sold all assets enter the cycle; others roll to the next | 2025-09-29 |
| Binance futures copy trading | Not read | Not read | Not read | Not read | Not read | Page returned 202 with no body |
| MEXC copy trading | Not read | Not read | Not read | Not read | Not read | Page returned 403, access denied |
Two of the four rows say high-water mark; two do not; and the two that do measure different things. That last point is where the rest of this piece goes.
What is a high-water mark in copy trading?
A high-water mark is the highest value a copied account or strategy has previously reached at a measurement point. Under the rule, profit share is charged only on the amount by which the current value exceeds that peak, so the trader is not paid twice for recovering ground already lost. Bybit Pro and Bitget spot state the rule by name; Bybit Classic and OKX do not.
The phrase comes from fund management, where a performance fee is charged only on gains above the fund’s previous peak so that the manager is not paid again for recovering a drawdown. Applied to copy trading, the question is what value the mark is set against. It can be the net asset value of a pooled strategy, the running total profit of one copier’s account, or, in the two products that do not use the term, nothing at all beyond the week just ended.
How is profit sharing calculated in copy trading?
It depends on the product line. Bybit Copy Trading Pro multiplies the gap between the latest strategy NAV and its high-water mark by the ratio and the shares held. Bybit Classic and OKX net a follower’s closed-position wins and losses over a weekly cycle and apply the ratio to the net figure. Bitget spot applies the ratio to total PnL not yet settled.
Each of those four is a different arithmetic, and each is written down. We take them in turn.
Bybit Copy Trading Pro: a high-water mark on strategy NAV
Bybit’s Copy Trading Pro profit-sharing page, last updated 13 November 2025 per the page, is the most explicit of the four. Pro Masters can set a profit-sharing ratio of up to 30 per cent. Profit sharing is calculated on every seventh day of the strategy cycle, which the page calls T+6, from the strategy’s net asset value recorded at 2AM UTC. The page states that the high-water mark principle applies: share is charged only when the NAV on the calculation date exceeds the highest NAV previously recorded, and the amount is the latest NAV minus the mark, times the ratio, times the investor’s shares.
The mark moves on two occasions and no other. On a calculation date, if the NAV has set a new high, the mark rises to it; if not, it stays. On an investment date, the page gives a weighted formula: the original mark times the original shares plus the new investment, divided by the total shares after the deposit. Redemptions, the page says, have no effect on the mark. Settlement follows at 2AM UTC on T+7, in the same window as redemptions, with a final settlement when a strategy is terminated. If the Pro Master’s account cannot cover the redemption and share due, the page says the system closes positions to make up the shortfall and recalculates both amounts from the T+7 NAV instead.
Read as a copier, this is the rule that protects across cycles. A strategy that drops from a peak and takes three months to recover charges nothing on the way back up. What the page does not state is any wait for positions to close: NAV is marked whether the strategy is fully in cash or fully deployed, so a paper gain at 2AM UTC on T+6 is a chargeable gain.
Bybit Copy Trading Classic: weekly netting, no mark
Bybit’s Classic product, the one that most of the incumbent explainers describe, runs on a different page: Copy Trading: Profit Sharing Explained, last updated 25 February 2026 per the page. The phrase high-water mark does not appear in the body this desk read. The ratio depends on the Master Trader’s rank: Cadet 10 per cent, Bronze 10 per cent, Silver 12 per cent, Gold 15 per cent.
The mechanics are these, per the page. The system calculates the follower’s net P&L on USDT perpetual trades daily and pre-deducts the ratio from each day’s profit. The settlement cycle runs from Saturday 00:00 UTC to Friday 23:59:59 UTC, and settlement is at 3AM UTC on Monday. Net profit is position P&L less the fee to open and the fee to close. If the follower’s closed positions net a loss over the cycle, the pre-deducted share is refunded on settlement day; if they net a profit smaller than the amount held, the excess is refunded and the rest goes to the Master Trader. One further rule matters for anyone who holds trades over a weekend: the share on a given day’s trades is distributed only once every perpetual opened that day has been closed. Bybit’s own worked example shows a day whose BTC position is only partly closed carrying its 100 USDT pre-deduction forward, unrefunded and undistributed, into a later cycle, where it is netted against the eventual loss on the remainder.
That is a within-cycle netting rule and a same-day-batch holdback. It is not a high-water mark, and we do not call it one. A follower who loses 1,000 USDT in one week and makes 1,000 USDT the next pays share on the second week in full.
OKX: weekly netting with daily withholding
OKX’s lead-trader profit-sharing rules carry the freshest stamp of the four, published 4 September 2023 and updated 19 August 2026 per the page. Copy traders share up to 30 per cent of copy-trading profits with the lead trader, according to the lead trader’s level. The phrase high-water mark does not appear in the body this desk read.
The structure is close to Bybit Classic. The system calculates the profit and loss of each copied order, and these cancel each other out at settlement. For each profitable copy trade, after trading fees, a percentage of net profit is deducted at the time; if losses elsewhere mean the copier owes less than was withheld, the excess is returned to the trading account on the settlement date. The cycle is weekly, Monday 00:00 to Sunday 23:59:59 in UTC+8, which puts the boundary at Sunday 16:00 UTC, and the calculation runs every Monday at 00:00 UTC+8. The page’s example runs on a level-two lead trader at 10 per cent: 1,100 USDT of gross profit across the winning orders, 110 USDT withheld day by day, 550 USDT net after the losing orders, 55 USDT shared and 55 USDT returned.
OKX’s open-position rule is stricter than Bybit Classic’s. For futures copy trading, a copier’s profit is settled only if they are copying no open positions from the lead trader at all; otherwise the whole settlement is postponed to the next period. For spot, the same page says pending profit for a week is settled only if all crypto bought within that week has been sold.
Bitget spot copy trading: a high-water mark on total PnL, unrealized included
Bitget’s spot copy trading guide for copiers, dated 29 September 2025 on the page, applies to spot copy trading only. Bitget also lists futures, CFD and bot copy trading in its help-center navigation; those pages were not read, and nothing here should be taken to describe them.
For spot, the page says Bitget uses a High Water Mark model, and traders receive profit share only when the copy account achieves net gains. The definitions are given. Total PnL is realized PnL plus unrealized PnL. Settled PnL is profit already used in past settlements. Unsettled PnL is total minus settled, and the eligible share is unsettled PnL times the share ratio. Only new, unsettled profit enters each cycle; the page says profits are never shared twice. Settlement is every Monday at 8:00 AM UTC+8, which is Monday 00:00 UTC, and also when the copier stops copying or the trader closes the project. Only copy accounts that have fully sold all assets are included in a cycle; an account still holding any token is skipped and rolled into the next.
The page does not state a cap. Its worked table runs share ratios of 10, 12 and 15 per cent across the weeks of the example, and those are illustrations, not a published ladder. The house question applies to the definition of total PnL: it includes unrealized gains. Because settlement is gated on the account having sold everything, the paper component should be small at the moment of settlement, but the stop-copy path sells all holdings at market and settles immediately, and the page says the final amount received may vary slightly with price movement during that sell.
Do master traders take a share if I lose money?
Not under any of the four rule sets this desk read, provided the loss and the gain fall in the same measurement. Bybit Classic and OKX refund pre-deducted share when a week nets a loss. Bybit Pro and Bitget spot only charge when value exceeds the previous high. A loss in a later week does not claw back share already paid on an earlier one.
The qualification is the whole point. None of the four pages describes a mechanism for returning share already settled, and none claims one. On the two weekly-netting products, the measurement is one week of closed positions; a losing week after a winning week is the copier’s alone. On the two high-water-mark products, the measurement is cumulative from the previous peak, which is the better protection for the copier and, correspondingly, the arrangement a trader with a volatile record has the least reason to prefer.
Do losses on one copied trader offset profit share on another?
Not on any page read. Every rule above is written per relationship: Bybit Classic’s netting is of one follower’s trades under one Master Trader, OKX’s example is one copy trader against one lead trader, Bitget’s mark is on one copy account under one elite trader, and Bybit Pro’s is on one investor’s shares in one strategy. A copier who splits funds across three traders and finishes the week flat overall, up on one and down on two, owes share on the one. The BitMEX explainer’s worked example, a single copier under a single trader, does not raise this; none of the incumbent pages we read does.
When is the profit share deducted on Bybit copy trading?
On Bybit Classic, the ratio is pre-deducted from each day’s realized profit and held. The cycle runs from Saturday 00:00 UTC to Friday 23:59:59 UTC, with settlement at 3AM UTC on Monday, when any excess is refunded. On Bybit Pro, the share is calculated on day T+6 of the strategy cycle from the NAV at 2AM UTC and settled at 2AM UTC on T+7.
A reader comparing the two Bybit lines against each other should note that Classic’s page shows an unrealized profit share figure to both sides, and says in terms that it is not the amount that will settle, because refunds for net losses and same-day holdbacks can change it. That is one of the few places on any of the four pages where the operator warns that its own displayed number is provisional.
Why the two high-water marks are not the same rule
Bybit Pro’s mark is set on the strategy’s NAV, a pooled figure per share, and adjusts by a weighted formula when a new investor comes in. Bitget spot’s mark is set on one copier’s cumulative total PnL and adjusts by the settled amount. The first is a fund-style mark; the second is a per-account ledger of what has already been paid. Both prevent double payment on the same gain. They differ on what happens when new money arrives: on Bybit Pro, a deposit at a NAV below the mark lowers the mark by the formula, so share can become due sooner on the blended position; Bitget’s page does not address deposits at all, and we do not guess.
They also differ on the treatment of paper gains. Bybit Pro’s NAV is marked at 2AM UTC on T+6 regardless of what is open. Bitget spot includes unrealized PnL in total PnL by definition but only admits accounts that have sold everything, so in the normal path the two definitions converge at the moment of settlement. The weekly netters, by contrast, count nothing until it is closed, and OKX waits for the entire relationship to be flat.
What this desk could not read
Binance’s FAQ for futures copy trading returned a 202 with no page body to a plain fetch on 11 September 2026, and MEXC’s profit-share rules article returned a 403 access-denied page. Search snippets attribute figures to both. We do not carry snippet figures, so the two rows in the table are marked not read rather than filled in. A reader who can open those pages in a browser will find rules written in the operators’ own words, which is where any figure should come from.
The same caution applies to everything above. The four pages carry their own dates, the newest of them from August 2026, and an operator can revise a help article without notice. The rules are reported as they stood on the day we read them.
What it means for the copier
A copy-trading profit share is a performance fee, and the questions this site puts to every performance fee apply. Measured over what period: one week of closed trades, or the distance from the last peak. Counting whom: one copier under one trader, never the copier’s whole book. After which costs: open and close fees on Bybit Classic, trading fees on OKX, and on the two NAV-style marks, whatever is already inside the marked value. The differences are not small. A copier under a trader whose record alternates losing and winning weeks pays materially more under a weekly-netting rule than under either mark, and the operators’ own pages, not the rate on the profile card, are where that difference is written down. We looked at the same question for a flat-fee alternative in cTrader Copy against MQL5 Signals, at a 10 to 50 per cent band in Scope Copy’s MetaTrader 5 launch, and at a model where the copier pays nothing directly in what eToro pays the trader you copy. Bitget’s separate CFD line, reached only by invitation, is covered in our earlier piece on that product.
None of the four exchanges is described here as licensed, regulated or authorised anywhere, because none of the pages we read says anything about it, and availability of each product varies by jurisdiction. Copy trading transfers risk, not skill; a settlement rule that protects the copier from paying twice does nothing to protect the copier from the trader’s losses, which are the copier’s in full under every rule on this page. Past performance does not predict future results. We are not licensed advisers, and nothing here recommends any of these products or anyone trading on them.