Copy trading profit share: what a lead trader can charge
Bybit Classic fixes the ratio by rank at 10 to 15%; Bybit Pro and OKX cap it at 30%. What each exchange's own rules page permits, read 19 September 2026.
By Staff, Copytrade Press
It depends on the product line. On Bybit Copy Trading Classic the ratio is fixed by Master Trader rank: Cadet 10 per cent, Bronze 10, Silver 12, Gold 15. On Bybit Pro the Master sets it, up to 30 per cent. On OKX, copy traders share up to 30 per cent, by lead-trader level, per the exchanges’ own rules pages.
That is the short answer to how much profit share a lead trader can charge in copy trading, and it is more constrained than the figures in circulation suggest. The three third-party pages this desk could open for this question print one number each, and one states a 15 per cent Bybit standard set by lead traders; Bybit’s own Classic page sets it by rank. So this desk went to the exchanges’ rules pages, three of which opened on 19 September 2026, and put what they permit side by side.
How much profit share can a lead trader charge in copy trading? The published schedules
| Product line | Who sets the ratio | Ratio permitted, per the page | What it is charged on | Can it change mid-copy? | Page date shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Copy Trading Classic | The exchange, by Master Trader rank | Cadet 10%, Bronze 10%, Silver 12%, Gold 15% | Net profit: position P&L minus fee to open minus fee to close, netted over the week | Not stated in the body read | Last updated 2026-02-25 |
| Bybit Copy Trading Pro | The Pro Master, within a ceiling | Up to 30% | Latest strategy NAV minus the high-water mark, times shares | Yes, but not within 48 hours before settlement; effective from the second upcoming settlement | Last updated 2025-11-13 |
| OKX copy trading | Based on lead-trader level, per the page | Up to 30%; the page’s worked example is level L2 at 10% | Copy trader’s net profit after trading fees, wins and losses netted within the week | Not stated in the body read | Published Sep 4, 2023; updated Aug 19, 2026 |
| Bitget copy trading | Not read | Not read | Not read | Not read | Rules pages returned STATUS 000 |
Three rows carry figures. Two of the three 30 per cent entries are ceilings, and the one schedule printed in full, Bybit Classic, tops out at half that.
Bybit Classic: the rank sets the ratio, not the trader
Bybit’s Copy Trading Classic profit-sharing page, last updated 25 February 2026 per the page, says the ratio varies with the rank of the Master Trader and prints the schedule: Cadet 10 per cent, Bronze 10, Silver 12, Gold 15. How a rank is earned is on a page this desk did not read.
The base is net profit, defined as position P&L less the fee to open and the fee to close. The system pre-deducts the ratio from each day’s profit, nets wins against losses across a cycle from Saturday 00:00 UTC to Friday 23:59:59 UTC, and settles at 3AM UTC on Monday, refunding any excess. One line in the page’s rules list still says ten per cent of overall net profit goes to the Master Trader on settlement day, which matches only the two lowest ranks; the table above it is the schedule. The netting mechanics in full are in our post on whether copy trading profit share uses a high-water mark.
Bybit Pro: up to 30 per cent, chosen by the Master, above a high-water mark
Bybit’s Copy Trading Pro profit-sharing page, last updated 13 November 2025 per the page, is the one product line of the three where the trader picks the number. Pro Masters can set a ratio of up to 30 per cent. It is charged every seventh day of the strategy cycle, from the net asset value recorded at 2AM UTC, and only on the amount by which that NAV exceeds the previous highest NAV: the latest NAV minus the high-water mark, times the ratio, times the investor’s shares, settled at 2AM UTC on T+7.
This is also the only page of the three that answers the mid-copy question. A Pro Master can change the ratio, but not within 48 hours before a settlement date, and the new ratio takes effect from the second upcoming settlement. So a 30 per cent Bybit figure is true of Pro at the top of its range, and untrue of Classic at any rank.
OKX: up to 30 per cent, by lead-trader level
OKX’s lead-trader profit-sharing rules, published 4 September 2023 and updated 19 August 2026 per the page, state that copy traders share up to 30 per cent of copy-trading profits with the lead trader they copy, based on lead-trader levels. The worked example is a lead trader at level L2 with a 10 per cent ratio: a week that nets 550 USDT after fees sends 55 USDT to the lead trader and returns 55 USDT of excess withholding to the copier. The share is taken from net profit after trading fees, calculated every Monday at 00:00 UTC+8, and postponed while any linked futures position is open.
The body this desk read does not print the ladder between the lowest level and the 30 per cent top, and this post does not guess at it.
Bitget: the ceiling in circulation, and the page that would not open
The 50 per cent figure in one comparison table this desk read is attributed to Bitget and to private projects rather than the public leaderboard. This desk could not confirm it: Bitget’s profit-sharing rules articles did not open to us on 19 September 2026 on any of the paths tried, so no Bitget ratio is printed here as current. Our earlier report on Bitget putting CFD copy trading behind an invitation link covers what the private-project structure is.
What the ratio is charged on
On all three pages read, the share is a slice of net profit after trading fees, not of gross P&L and not of the follower’s allocation. On Bybit Classic and OKX the netting runs across a week, and the pre-deducted amount is refunded if the week nets a loss. On Bybit Pro the netting runs across the life of the strategy through the high-water mark. None of the three pages, as read here, mentions funding fees either way, so this post does not either. What happens when a week ends in the red is the subject of our post on whether copy trading profit share is refunded at a net loss.
The house question applies to a ratio as it does to a return figure: measured over what period, counting whom, after which costs?
How much do lead traders make on copy trading?
The rules pages state a ratio, not an income. A lead trader’s take is that ratio applied to each follower’s net profit over a settlement cycle, so it depends on how many followers copy, how much they allocate and whether the cycle nets a gain. None of the three pages this desk read publishes what any lead trader actually earns, and this post prints no such figure.
Does Bybit copy trading take a percentage of profit?
Yes, on both product lines. On Copy Trading Classic the follower shares 10, 10, 12 or 15 per cent of net profit depending on whether the Master Trader is ranked Cadet, Bronze, Silver or Gold, per the page last updated 25 February 2026. On Copy Trading Pro the Pro Master sets a ratio of up to 30 per cent, charged only above a high-water mark, per the page dated 13 November 2025.
Can a lead trader change the profit share after you start copying?
On Bybit Copy Trading Pro, yes, within limits: the page says a Pro Master can change the ratio but not within 48 hours before a settlement date, and the new ratio takes effect from the second upcoming settlement. The Bybit Classic and OKX pages this desk read do not state whether a rank or level change alters a follower’s ratio mid-copy, so this post makes no claim for either.
Do you pay profit share on losing copy trades?
Not on a cycle that nets a loss, under the three rule sets read. Bybit Classic pre-deducts the ratio from each day’s profit and refunds it on settlement day if the week’s closed positions net a loss. OKX withholds daily and returns the excess on the settlement date once losses are offset. Bybit Pro charges only when strategy NAV exceeds its previous high-water mark.
The figures above are as published on the three pages on 19 September 2026 and nothing more, and availability varies by jurisdiction. A lower ratio is not a reason to copy anyone. Copy trading transfers risk, not skill; the lead trader’s share is the one number on the profile that never turns negative, and past performance does not predict future results. This is not financial advice.